• White Block

    Front de Taille Art Gallery

    After being ordered to stage a photo exhibition set in the Front de Taille Gallery within the Stone Museum located in Saint-Maximin former stone quarries, ateliergh imagined a modular and permanent museum device, aiming at helping the gallery in the spatial staging of its exhibitions.

    After being ordered to stage a photo exhibition set in the Front de Taille Gallery within the Stone Museum located in Saint-Maximin former stone quarries, ateliergh imagined a modular and permanent museum device, aiming at helping the gallery in the spatial staging of its exhibitions.

    Long dominated by its legendary White Cube, the exhibition space frees itself from its usual scenographic constraints, thanks to the ‘White Block’.
    Such a new scenographic device allows to reconfigure the exhibition space according to needs and space parameters.

    Inspired by the stone blocks that can be dug in the quarries, the White Block is composed of five separate units that fit into one another, can be dismantled, fit or undo infinitely in a dedicated space.

    Those structures, dropped in the middle of the hall, echo the apparent neglect of stone blocks inside a quarry.

    May they be whole or fragmented into space, the faces of those monoliths act as picture rails or frames that can host any document or work of art, ready to set, hang or slide. Visitors can also set themselves into, since two blocks are planned to serve as seats if necessary.

    Fitted or independent the ones from the others, the elements of the White Block are flexible enough to adapt their shape to any situation and make the exhibition space look both more dynamic and welcoming, like a visitor-friendly sculpture.

    read more less
  • MAKING OF
    read more less
  • Scenography
    ateliergh

    Curator & Graphics
    Frédérique Santune

    Manufacturing
    François Valenza

• White bloc

    Galerie du Front de Taille

    Sur commande d’une scénographie pour une exposition photo dans la Galerie du front de taille de la Maison de la Pierre, située dans les anciennes carrières de pierres de Saint-Maximin, l’ateliergh développe un dispositif muséographique modulable et pérenne destiné à aider la galerie dans la mise en scène spatiale de ces expositions. Un bloc blanc fragmenté, agençable selon les besoins.

    Sur commande d’une scénographie pour une exposition photo dans la Galerie du front de taille de la Maison de la Pierre, située dans les anciennes carrières de pierres de Saint-Maximin, l’ateliergh développe un dispositif muséographique modulable et pérenne destiné à aider la galerie dans la mise en scène spatiale de ces expositions. Un bloc blanc fragmenté, agençable selon les besoins.

    Longtemps dominé par le légendaire « White Cube » ou « cube blanc », l’espace d’exposition se libère enfin des contraintes scénographiques habituelles avec le « White Block ».

    Ce dispositif scénographique nouveau permet de reconfigurer l’espace d’exposition selon les besoins et paramètres du lieu.

    Inspiré des blocs de pierre que l’on trouve dans les carrières, le « White Block » est composé de cinq modules autonomes qui s’imbriquent ou se séparent, se disposent et se re-disposent à l’infini dans un espace donné.

    «Ces structures, « déposées » au milieu du hall, font écho à l’apparent abandon des blocs de pierre au sein d’une carrière.»

    Qu’ils se présentent tout d’un tenant ou en version éclatée dans l’espace, les parois de ces monolithes deviennent des cimaises ou des supports susceptibles d’accueillir des documents ou des œuvres à poser, accrocher ou glisser. On peut aussi s’y installer puisque deux des blocs sont aussi prévus pour éventuellement servir de banquette.

    Réunis ou séparés les uns des autres, les éléments du « White Block » permettent des agencements chaque fois adaptés à la situation et rendent ainsi l’espace d’exposition tout simplement plus dynamique, mais aussi plus convivial.

    en savoir plus réduire
  • ateliergh White Block Front de Taille Art Gallery
  • ateliergh White Block Front de Taille Art Gallery
  • ateliergh White Block Front de Taille Art Gallery
  • ateliergh White Block Front de Taille Art Gallery
  • MAKING OF
    en savoir plus réduire
  • ateliergh White Block Front de Taille Art Gallery
  • ateliergh White Block Front de Taille Art Gallery
  • ateliergh White Block Front de Taille Art Gallery
  • ateliergh White Block Front de Taille Art Gallery
  • Scénographie
    ateliergh

    Commissaires d’exposition & graphisme
    Frédérique Santune

    Fabrication
    François Valenza