• Urban periscope

    Fnac & Ratp

    During the realisation of two prospective studies for Fnac and Ratp, Gaël Hiétin makes Merlin (fake newspaper article) about a utopian project. The Merlin’s goal was to call Fnac, Ratp and Grand Palais to discuss a joint project to build an urban information center dedicated to mobility and culture : An UrbanPeriscope.

    During the realisation of two prospective studies for Fnac and Ratp, Gaël Hiétin makes Merlin (fake newspaper article) about a utopian project.

    The Merlin’s goal was to call Fnac, Ratp and Grand Palais to discuss a joint project to build an urban information center dedicated to mobility and culture : An UrbanPeriscope.

    TO
    YOU PARIS !!!


    Tonight
    at the Grand Palais, discover the main principles of a new emblematic urban equipment co-designed by citizens.

    Paris finally reveals its urban periscope

    To discover under the dome of the Grand Palais the urban simulator, acompass essential to navigating our future megacities

    Urban Utopia or a tool essential for any megalopolis ?
    Tonight, everyone is invited to experience a new kind of urban project under the glass roof of the Grand Palais. It shows the results of a year of collaborative work revealing the desires and aspirations of a place serving the city.

    “A Multi-Service Control Tower”

    The goal of this project is to bring the City back to the city dweller by giving it the tools it needs to live it better. A “multi-service control tower”, which allows you to physically approach the city of tomorrow, to reclaim your multiple activities.

    It is a nerve center, where all networks, both physical through transport and virtual, converge, made possible thanks to the technological virtuosity deployed. The programmatic work designed by designers turns this space into a compendium of services, regardless of the interests or age of the users.

    “A futuristic space for everyone

    His function is multiple, says Gaël Hiétin, at the initiative of the project : “It is a protean urban oasis, a hybrid consumption space; you sit there, work there, alone or in a group, you sit there and rest, nourish your body and mind, plug and disconnect…

    We wanted to make it an open and cosmopolitan place just like the city of tomorrow.
    Imagine a gigantic urban periscope connecting the scenes to each other, both literally and figuratively. A place of constant social mixing, where pedagogy and didactics intermingle, so that everyone learns to understand their city through new technologies. There are new sensory and collaborative interfaces placed in intuitive uses and practices.

    This place offers material and information resources to find your way around the city. Equipped with mobile terminals, visitors are invited to compile their “Ki-pass” package at will, giving access to the city keys. Thanks to new technologies, the city becomes media ! The aim here is to give people the means to regain their autonomy, the pleasure of sailing and returning to become tourists in their own city.

    “Street Lab, a living lab on urban practices”

    This evening’s exhibition comes to a close of a year’s research, which took place within a
    “co-working space” is brief : the Street Lab.

    The project partners The City of Paris, the Grand Palais, RATP and FNAC have confronted their vision with that of the city dwellers, invited to express their views on the future of the city.
    For one year, experts, designers, architects, planners, partners, francilians and passing travelers participated in this project which draws new ways of using mobility in the maquis of cities.

    This collaborative work has helped to identify expectations, desires and connect the city with the future, while placing the city at the center of current concerns : access to the media & culture, the fight against the digital divide, the citizen’s commitment to the environment, sustainable mobility and fair trade…

    “A shared concept that is already exported…

    In the coming months, Street Lab will become mobile.
    Seduced by this operation, other European megacities are adopting the approach through the Living Lab network (Europeen Network of LivingLabs).

    This innovative network in the field of new mobile technologies supports the initiative already shared by Helsinki, Berlin, Prague…

    In Paris, it is in 2015 that this emblematic equipment combining physical and cultural mobility should open its doors. First European exclusivity !

    THE STREET LAB PARIS EXHIBITION (GRAND PALAIS).
    After a year of collaborative workshop open to the public, the Grand Palais presents the results of the Street Lab in the form of an exhibition that simulates the services of a large urban equipment delivered in 2015.

    A Brand Lab

    The Street Lab simulator is a great laboratory for brands, and offers partners the opportunity to climb up to grasp urban issues. This experience is also an opportunity to compare their visions with those of the “consonant actors”. Together, they imagine the services that will make tomorrow’s life easier.

    “A multiple place in the service of urban dwellers”

    A place of convergence between mul-timedia par excellence, the urban control tower is open to all actors who wish to communicate and sell information, entertainment, services, “urban refreshments”…

    On
    large, user-friendly and interactive tables, city dwellers can take control of their city by downloading packs related to their needs.
    We will be able to book our cinema, theater, exhibition… or know the ideal circuit to get there.

    “Information is sell in Kilo Bytes

    For the equivalent of the price of one kilo of oranges, the visitor will leave with a ton of information needed to live his city.

    These
    network interfaces also allow you to download the tube of the moment, exchange or print your holiday photos after retouching them on easy photo FNAC.
    Socio-digital network enthusiasts will be satisfied. They will be able to open an “Open Profile” account allowing them to share their media compilations mixing music, films, books, concert tickets…

    Opposite the City Wall, the city art gallery plays the connections between real and virtual. From the polysensory spaces to the sound jacuzzis, to the light box lumino therapy and micro-climatic, designed by ateliergheverything has been designed to relax the city in search of fullness.

    Media-Bar offers food for mind & body. This urban ship, driven by city dwellers, offers an unprecedented journey into the maze of our daily news papers. Just take the controls!

    Architectural concept

    A walking area, covered area, train station, tourist information center… what do the architects tell us ? “With this demand for mixing, we have created a giant mecano, mixing shops with places of transit, consultation, decompression,” explains Pierre-Jean Richard, Director of Facilities.

    The skyline opens on to panoramic terraces. The volume obtained has a playful air like a “Tetris” or a “Space Invader”, facing the city. The architects also took inspiration from the Nordic buildings for the materials used in this HQE building. Access is through cracks designed like inner alleys, lined with an interactive lacquer of bright green.

    The gardens at the heart of the project seem to be coming out of the boulevard like a manned wood.

    “A digital vineyard goes to the front.

    The architectural concept is based on the idea of uniting diversity within a tree-like volume. This unique building brings the city back to the human scale that is used to discover many resources.

    Space distribution makes it easy to unpack. The means of transport cross it, covered sidewalks seem to continue the street inside the building. This functional mosaic architecture plays on the confusion between exterior and interior spaces.

    “A place of hybrid consumption,
    driven by solid urban actors”

    read more less
  • Creative Direction

    ateliergh

    Writing
    Atelier gh
    Stephane Juget (WT2i)

• Périscope urbain

    Fnac & Ratp

    Dans le cadre de deux études prospectives réalisées pour la Fnac et la Ratp, Gaël Hiétin réalise un Merlin (faux article de journal) sur un projet utopique. Le but de ce Merlin fut d’interpeler la Fnac, la Ratp et le Grand Palais sur un projet commun de construction d’un centre d’information urbain dédié à la mobilité et à la culture : Un Periscope Urbain.

    Dans le cadre de deux études prospectives réalisées pour la Fnac et la Ratp, Gaël Hiétin réalise un Merlin (faux article de journal) sur un projet utopique.

    Le but de ce Merlin fut d’interpeler la Fnac, la Ratp et le Grand Palais sur un projet commun de construction d’un centre d’information urbain dédié à la mobilité et à la culture : Un Périscope Urbain.

    À VOUS PARIS !!!

    À découvrir ce soir au Grand Palais, les grands principes d’un nouvel équipement urbain emblématique co-conçu par les citoyens.

    Paris révèle enfin son périscope urbain

    À découvrir sous la coupole du Grand Palais le simulateur urbain, boussole indispensable pour naviguer dans nos futures mégapoles

    Utopie urbaine ou outil indispensable à toutemégapole ?
    Ce soir, chacun est invité à expérimenter un projet urbain d’un nouveau genre sous la verrière du Grand Palais. On y découvre les résultats d’un an de travail collaboratif révélant les désirs et aspirations d’un lieu au service du citadin.

    « Une Tour de contrôle multi-servicielle »

    L’objectif de ce projet est de ramener la Ville à l’échelle du citadin en lui donnant les outils dont il a besoin pour mieux la vivre. Une « tour de contrôle multi-servicielle », qui permet d’aborder physiquement la ville de demain, de se réapproprier ses multiples activités.

    C’est un centre névralgique, d’où convergent tous les réseaux, tant physiques à travers les transports, que virtuels, rendu possible grâce à la virtuosité technologique déployée. Le travail de programmatique imaginé par les designers transforme cet espace en condensé de services, quels que soient les centres d’intérêt, ou l’âge des usagers.

    « Un espace futuriste au service de chacun. »

    Sa fonction est multiple, précise Gaël Hiétin, à l’initiative du projet : « C’est un oasis urbain  protéiforme, un espace de consommation hybride ; on s’y installe, on y travaille, seul ou en groupe, on s’y pose et s’y repose, nourrit son corps et son esprit,  se branche et se débranche…

    Nous souhaitions en faire un lieu ouvert et cosmopolite à l’image de la ville de demain. »
    Imaginez un gigantesque périscope urbain reliant les scènes les unes aux autres, au propre comme au figuré. Un lieu de mixité sociale en mutation permanente, où pédagogie et didactique s’entremêlent, afin que chacun apprenne à comprendre sa ville par le biais des nouvelles technologies.

    On y trouve de nouvelles interfaces sensorielles et collaboratives mises en situation dans des usages et pratiques intuitifs. Ce lieu offre des ressources matérielles et informationnelles pour se repérer dans l’agitation urbaine. Équipé de terminaux mobiles, le visiteur est par exemple invité à compiler à sa guise son forfait « Ki-pass » donnant accès aux clés de la ville.

    Sous l’effet des nouvelles technologies,  la ville devient média ! L’objectif ici est de donner aux gens les moyens de retrouver leur autonomie, le plaisir de naviguer et de redevenir des touristes dans leur propre ville.

    « Street Lab, un living lab sur les pratiques urbaines »

    L’ exposition de ce soir vient clôturer une année de recherche, qui s‘est déroulée au sein d’un
    « co-working  space » éphémère: le « Street Lab ».

    Les partenaires du projet – La Ville de Paris, le Grand Palais, la RATP et la FNAC – ont confronté leur vision avec celle des citadins, invités à s’exprimer sur le devenir urbain.

    Pendant un an, experts, designers, architectes, urbanistes, partenaires, franciliens et voyageurs de passage ont participé à ce projet qui dessine de nouveaux modes d’usage de la mobilité dans le maquis des villes.

    Ce travail collaboratif a permis de cerner les attentes, les désirs et de conjuguer la ville au futur, tout en plaçant le citadin au coeur des préoccupations actuelles : l’accès aux medias & à la culture, la lutte contre la fracture numérique, l’engagement du citoyen en faveur de l’environnement, de la mobilité durable et du commerce équitable…

    « Un concept partagé qui s’exporte déjà… »

    Dans les mois qui viennent, Street Lab va devenir mobile.
    Séduites par cette opération, d’autres mégapoles européennes adoptent la démarche au travers du réseau Living Lab (Europeen Network of Living Labs).

    Ce réseau porteur d’innovation dans les domaines des nouvelles téchnologies mobiles soutient l’initiative déjà partagée par Helsinki, Berlin, Prague…

    À Paris, c’est en 2015 que cet équipement  emblématique associant mobilité physique et culturelle devrait ouvrir ses portes. En première exclusivité Européenne !

    L’EXPOSITION STREET LAB PARIS (GRAND PALAIS).
    Après un an d’atelier collaboratif ouvert au public, le Grand Palais présente les résultats du Street Lab sous forme d’une exposition qui simule les services d’un grand équipement urbain livré en 2015.

    Un laboratoire de marques

    Formidable laboratoire pour les marques, le simulateur Street Lab offre l’opportunité aux partenaires de prendre de l’altitude pour appréhender les enjeux urbains. Cette expérience est aussi l’occasion de confronter leurs visions à celles des « consom-acteurs ». Ensemble, ils  imaginent les services qui nous faciliteront la vie de demain.

    « Un lieu multiple au service des citadins »

    Lieu de convergence mul-timédia par excellence, la tour de contrôle urbaine est ouverte à tous les acteurs qui souhaitent communiquer et vendre des informations, des divertissements, des services, des « rafraîchissements urbains »…

    Sur de grandes tables d’hôte conviviales et interactives les citadins pourront prendre le contrôle de leur ville en téléchargeant des packs relatifs à leurs besoins. Nous pourrons réserver directement nos places de cinéma, théâtre, exposition… ou connaître le circuit idéal pour s’y rendre.

    « Les informations s’y monnaient en Kilo. Octets. »

    Pour l’équivalent du prix d’un kilo d’oranges, le visiteur repartira avec une tonne d’informations nécessaires pour vivre sa ville.

    Ces interfaces en réseaux permettent aussi de télécharger le tube du moment, d’échanger ou d’imprimer ses photos de vacances après les avoir retouchées sur « easyphotoFNAC ». Les adeptes des réseaux socio-numériques seront comblés. Ils pourront ouvrir un compte « Open Profil » leur permettant de partager leurs compilations medias mélangeant musiques, films, livres, places de concerts…

    Face au CityWall, la galerie des arts urbains  se joue des connexions entre réel et virtuel. Des espaces polysensoriels aux jacuzzis sonores en passant par les light box luminothérapiques et micro-climatiques, imaginés par l’ateliergh, tout a été pensé pour détendre le citadin en quête de plénitude.

    Un Media-Bar propose de la nourriture pour l’esprit & le corps. Ce navire urbain, piloté par les citadins, offre un voyage sans précédent dans le dédale de nos quotidiens. Il suffit d’en prendre les manettes !

    Concept architectural

    Espace de déambulation, quartier couvert, gare, centre d’information touristique… que nous disent les architectes ? « Forts de cette demande de mixité, nous avons constitué un mecano géant,  mélant des commerces avec des lieux de transit, de consultation, de décompression », nous explique Pierre-Jean Richard, directeur des aménagements.

    Le skyline ouvre sur des terrasses panoramiques. Le volume obtenu possède un air ludique comme un « Tetris » ou un « Space Invader », tourné vers la ville. Les architectes se sont également inspirés des constructions nordiques pour le choix des matériaux de ce batiment HQE.

    Les accès se font par des failles conçues comme des ruelles intérieures, revêtues d’une laque interactive d’un vert vif.

    Les jardins placés au coeur du projet semblent sortir du boulevard à la manière d’un bois habité.

    « Une vigne numérique part à l’assaut des façades. »

    Le concept architectural repose sur l’idée de fédérer la diversité au sein d’une volumétrie en arborescence. Ce bâtiment sans équivalent ramène la ville à l’échelle humaine que l’on arpente pour y découvrir de multiples ressources.

    La distribution des espaces facilite la déambulation. Les moyens de transport le traversent, des trottoirs couverts semblent continuer la rue à l’intérieur du bâtiment.Cette architecture à mosaïque fonctionnelle joue sur la confusion entre espaces extérieurs et intérieurs.

    « Un lieu de consommation hybride,
    porté par des acteurs urbains solides »

    en savoir plus réduire
  • ateliergh Urban Periscope Fnac & Ratp
  • ateliergh Urban Periscope Fnac & Ratp
  • Direction de création

    ateliergh

    Rédaction
    Atelier gh
    Stephane Juget (WT2i)