• Icarus

    The flight of the eye

    Baryte print
    Size 100cm x 100cm

    Dibond bonding 2mm
    Size: 100cm x 100cm

    Magnetic American box frame in solid oak
    Size: 104.5cm x 104.5cm

    Baryte print
    Size 100cm x 100cm

    Dibond bonding 2mm
    Size: 100cm x 100cm

    Magnetic American box frame in solid oak
    Size: 104.5cm x 104.5cm

    For more than 10 years, Gaël Hiétin has recorded portraits of territories during his travels and passages in various cities around the world, like a fragmented cartography of these places. Melbourne, Sydney, Los Angeles, New York …
     
    Using twenty four shots in height of his camera, for twenty four views, captured for three seconds, it recovers what the rotation of the lens has recorded. Twenty four witnesses exploded from a random space time.
     
    Far from the “decisive moment”; align the eye, the camera and the subject in the same line of sight, and far from the control of the point of view, which identifies the photographic gaze, G.H. sets up an objective concept of the capture of space. Thus he tries to evacuate the signature, the identity of the gaze, the psychological load, the affect, as any artist inscribed in his work.
     
    The danger of the camera by the double movement of the rise and fall, solicits the acrobatic virtuosity of the photographer. She participates in the project by physically registering the artist in her work procedure.
    Three seconds between heaven and earth to afford the view of the angel, the one that filmmakers and photographers choose when they frame their subjects with a bird’s eye view, but here before its fall …
     
    Sometimes the artist appears, seized in a waiting posture, when chance has decided to authorize him to sign his work. A wild self-portrait, a fragment of the self in a fragment of the world.
     
    “Icare”: project identification? But maybe more “Sisyphus” by the eternal recommencement of the gesture, as an attempt to refuse this “me” artist photographer …. But finally behind this announced hiding, this constantly renewed attempt of the erasure, it does not affirm, still more, a “me” which it can not escape ….
     
    The photographs are composed in chronological order of shots, edge to edge, restoring a patchy mosaic of the place in an autonomous plastic unit.
    Thus the reading becomes global associating each image in an overall optical vibration. The eye navigates from the part to the whole through an exploded vision of the landscape.
    Each photograph makes sense by referring to the one that follows. As in the “exquisite corpse” of the surrealists, the sequence of images reinvents the landscape in a new vision, through fortuitous encounters with fragments of sky, earth, architecture, trees, rocks, faces ….
     
    The square format in which the thematic series is composed favors, by its geometric configuration, multiple combinatorial scenographies. Thus, each recomposition amplifies and updates the perception of these mosaics of images that invite us to travel in a new planetary whole.
     
    An adventure that is not finished and which, maybe, is just beginning … ..
     
     
    Claude Courtecuisse

    read more less
  • Ile de France
    Field
    read more less
  • Fontainebleau
    Forest
    read more less
  • Nîmes
    Garrigue
    read more less
  • Saint-Césaire
    Siagne river
    read more less
  • Panarea
    The Matta's house
    read more less
  • Melbourne
    Federation Square Center
    read more less
  • Sydney
    Opera
    read more less
  • Los Angeles
    Down town car park
    read more less
  • Los Angeles
    Venice beach
    read more less
  • New York
    PS1
    read more less
  • New York
    Time Square
    read more less

• Icare

    L'envol de l'oeil

    Tirage Baryté
    Format 100cm x 100cm

    Contre collage Dibond 2mm
    Format : 100cm x 100cm

    Encadrement caisse américaine magnétique en chêne massif
    Format : 104,5cm x 104,5cm

    Tirage Baryté
    Format 100cm x 100cm

    Contre collage Dibond 2mm
    Format : 100cm x 100cm

    Encadrement caisse américaine magnétique en chêne massif
    Format : 104,5cm x 104,5cm

    Depuis plus de 10 ans Gaël Hiétin enregistre au cours de ses voyages et passages dans différentes villes du monde des portraits de territoires, comme une cartographie fragmentée de ces lieux. Melbourne, Sydney, Los Angeles, New York …

    En procédant par vingt quatre lancers en hauteur de son appareil photographique, pour vingt quatre vues, captées durant trois secondes, il récupère ce que la rotation de l’objectif a enregistré. Vingt quatre témoins éclatés d’un espace temps aléatoire.

    Loin de « l’instant décisif » ; aligner l’œil, l’appareil et le sujet dans la même ligne de mire, et loin de la maîtrise du point de vue, qui identifie le regard photographique, G.H. met en place un concept objectif de la captation de l’espace. Ainsi il tente d’évacuer la signature, l’identité du regard, la charge psychologique, l’affect, que tout artiste inscrit dans son œuvre.

    La mise en danger de l’appareil par le double mouvement de l’élévation et de la chute, sollicite la virtuosité acrobatique du photographe. Elle participe au projet en inscrivant physiquement l’artiste dans sa procédure de travail.
    Trois secondes entre ciel et terre pour s’offrir la vue de l’ange, celle que les cinéastes et les photographes choisissent lorsqu’ils cadrent leurs sujets en vue plongeante, mais ici avant sa chute…

    Parfois l’artiste apparaît, saisi dans une posture d’attente, lorsque le hasard a décidé de l’autoriser à signer son œuvre. Un autoportrait sauvage, un fragment du moi dans un fragment du monde.

    « Icare » : identification du projet ? Mais peut être plus encore « Sisyphe» par l’éternel recommencement du geste, comme une tentative de refus de ce « moi » artiste photographe…. Mais finalement derrière cette dissimulation annoncée, cette tentative constamment recommencée de l’effacement, n’affirme t-il pas, plus encore, un « moi » auquel il ne peut échapper….

    Les photographies sont composées dans l’ordre chronologique des prises de vue, bord à bord, reconstituant une mosaïque éparse du lieu dans une unité plastique autonome.
    Ainsi la lecture devient globale associant chaque image dans une vibration optique d’ensemble. L’œil navigue de la partie au tout à travers une vision éclatée du paysage.
    Chaque photographie prend sens en se référant à celle qui suit. Comme dans le « cadavre exquis » des surréalistes l’enchaînement des images réinvente le paysage dans une nouvelle vision, par les rencontres fortuites des fragments de ciel, de terre, d’architecture, d’arbres, de rochers, de visages….

    Le format carré dans lequel se composent les séries thématiques favorise, par sa configuration géométrique, de multiples scénographies combinatoires. Ainsi, chaque recomposition amplifie et réactualise la perception de ces mosaïques d’images qui nous invitent au voyage dans un nouvel ensemble planétaire.

    Une aventure qui n’est pas finie et qui, peut être, ne fait que commencer…..

    Claude Courtecuisse

    en savoir plus réduire
  • ateliergh Video Icare
  • Île de France
    Champs
    en savoir plus réduire
  • Fontainebleau
    Forêt
    en savoir plus réduire
  • Nîmes
    Bout de Garrigue
    en savoir plus réduire
  • Saint-Césaire
    La Siagne
    en savoir plus réduire
  • Panarea
    La maison Matta
    en savoir plus réduire
  • Melbourne
    Federation Square Center
    en savoir plus réduire
  • Sydney
    Opera
    en savoir plus réduire
  • Los Angeles
    Parking en centre ville
    en savoir plus réduire
  • Los Angeles
    Plage de Venice
    en savoir plus réduire
  • New York
    PS1
    en savoir plus réduire
  • New York
    Time Square
    en savoir plus réduire